Hustings in the constituency – VIDEO

I have been asked about when and where hustings events are taking place in Liverpool Riverside.

I have participated in a number of hustings during the election period, which are organised by particular groups or organisations, sometimes with a specific theme. These are advertised by the organisations and have been advertised in the Liverpool Echo. Most are open for the public to attend.

So far, I have spoken at the following hustings:

26 March – UpRising Liverpool – ’My Voice, My Vote’, engaging young people in politics and elections. [Camp & Furnace]

April 15 – Social Enterprise Network & LCVS – the Third & Voluntary Sector [LCVS, Churchill Way]

April 22 – Al Ghazali Community Centre – joint Riverside and Wavertree hustings [Earle Road]

April 23 – Belvedere Academy, engaging first time voters [Belvedere Road, school only]

April 23 – Joint University hustings – Liverpool Students General Election hustings [Redmond Building]

April 23 – Liverpool Parish Church, organised by the Archdiocese of Liverpool [St Nicholas, Chapel Street]

Forthcoming events:

April 27 – ACE (Active Community Enterprise) hustings – community-based support agency for adults with learning disabilities [Camp & Furnace]

April 29 – Archbishop Blanch school [Mount Vernon, school only]

These hustings are in addition to the other events taking place during the election period – my advice surgeries have continued and I have been meeting people across the constituency. I continue to receive casework and requests for personal assistance on many issues, such as housing. This has not changed since parliament has been dissolved.

Below is a video taken of my opening remarks from the Liverpool Parish church hustings. I hope this is useful in deciding who you will vote for on May 7th.

https://vimeo.com/126111389

I very much hope that you will strongly consider giving your two votes to Labour. There are two elections on the day – vote Labour for your ward candidate in the council elections and for me as your Member of Parliament.