The Mayoral and Local Elections 2012

The successes at this year’s local and mayoral elections were a sign of growing Labour support, combined with a signal to the Tory/Lib Dem government that their policies are badly affecting many people in Liverpool.

Congratulations to Joe Anderson who won the historic election to become Liverpool’s first directly elected Mayor. I know that Joe will continue to promote Liverpool on the local, national and international stages.

The mayoral results were as follows:

Councillor Joe Anderson Lab 58448 59.33%

Liam Fogarty Ind 8292 8.42%

Councillor Richard Kemp, CBE Lib Dem 6238 6.33%

Councillor John Coyne Green Party 5175 5.25%

Tony Mulhearn TUSC 4792 4.86%

Councillor Steve Radford Lib 4442 4.51%

Tony Caldeira Con 4425 4.49%

Adam Heatherington UKIP 2352 2.39%

Paul Duane Rimmer Eng Dem 1400 1.42%

Jeffrey Berman Ind 1362 1.38%

Mike Whitby BNP 1015 1.03%

Peter Tierney Nat Front 566 0.57%

The local ward elections also provided a resounding victory for Labour where Labour successfully retained all of its current seats as well as taking ten seats from the Lib Dems, including their leader. In fact, the Lib Dems only held onto one of their seats they were defending in the city.

Within the Riverside constituency, I congratulate Cllrs Steve Munby (Riverside); Tim Moore (Princes Park); Chris Banks (Central); Joe Hanson (Kirkdale) and to newly elected members: Emily Spurrell (Mossley Hill); James Roberts (Greenbank). Commiserations to Trish O’Brien who fought hard in St Michael’s.

All election results can be found on the Council’s website: